SEP 29, 2022 6:00 AM PDT

Reliable Antifungal Susceptibility Testing with MICRONAUT-AM according to EUCAST standards

Speaker

Abstract
Date:  September 29, 2022
Time: 6:00am (PDT),  9:00am (EDT), 3:00pm (CEST)
 
The global burden of candidiasis remains relatively stable. However, the epidemiology of the last ten years shows a shift from a majority of Candida albicans infections to non-albicans species. Species such as C. glabrata, C. parapsilosis or C. tropicalis, not to mention C. auris, are increasingly reported and are among the most prevalent species in some countries. These species are known to be naturally less sensitive to antifungal drugs or to rapidly acquire resistance. Therefore, reliable antifungal susceptibility testing (AFST) is essential to address the threat of antifungal resistance and improve patient outcomes.
 
CLSI and EUCAST offer different AFST protocols and interpretive criteria for detecting antifungal resistance or at least decreased antifungal susceptibility. However, both reference methods are labor intensive, making them difficult to implement in a routine laboratory. In contrast, commercial broth microdilution (BMD) methods offer a simpler and easier-to-implement alternative. MICRONAUT-AM (Bruker Daltonics GmbH & Co. KG.) is a BMD solution based on the EUCAST protocol and interpreted according to EUCAST criteria, whereas Sensititre™ YeastOne™ (Thermo Fisher Scientific) follows the CLSI protocol and interpretations, making it difficult to compare the results of both products. To overcome the differences between EUCAST and CLSI, a comparative evaluation of the MICRONAUT-AM test system using antifungal resistance genes was performed at CHUV Lausanne, Switzerland. The results, findings and conclusions of the study will be presented in this webinar by Dr. Alix Coste, PhD, Clinical Microbiologist, expert in mycology.
 
Learning Objectives
  • Understand the difference between CLSI and EUCAST AFST
  • Identify the benefits of MICRONAUT-AM
  • Learn about the performance of MICRONAUT-AM
 
Please contact your local representative for availability in your country. Not for sale in the USA.
 
 
Webinars will be available for unlimited on-demand viewing after live event.
 
 
 

Show Resources
You May Also Like
JUN 29, 2022 8:00 AM PDT
JUN 29, 2022 8:00 AM PDT
Date: June 29, 2022 Time: 8:00am (PST), 11:00am (EST), 5:00pm (CEST) As of May 2022, there have been more than 500 million confirmed cases of COVID-19, including numerous variants. Additiona...
NOV 16, 2022 7:00 PM PST
C.E. CREDITS
NOV 16, 2022 7:00 PM PST
Date: November 16, 2022 Time: 2:00pm (AEST) Date: November 17, 2022 7:00pm (PST), 10:00pm (EST), 4:00am (CET) The growth in FDA-approved cell and gene therapy products for the treatment of d...
JUN 28, 2022 7:00 AM PDT
JUN 28, 2022 7:00 AM PDT
Date: June 28, 2022 Time: 3:00pm (BST), 4:00pm (CET), 9:00am (CST), 7am (PST) Light-sheet microscopy is an extremely versatile imaging technique with a vast range of implementations that are...
NOV 29, 2022 6:00 AM PST
NOV 29, 2022 6:00 AM PST
Date: November 29, 2022 Time: 6:00am (PST), 9:00pm (EST), 3:00pm (CET) Antimicrobial resistance is an emerging problem in healthcare, and represents one of the most crucial challenges for th...
SEP 28, 2022 9:00 AM PDT
SEP 28, 2022 9:00 AM PDT
Date: September 28, 2022 Time: 9:00am (PDT), 12:00pm (EDT), 6:00pm (CEST) While COVID-19 continues to be the most pressing diagnostic focus for clinical laboratories, HIV remains a serious g...
OCT 13, 2022 9:00 AM +08
OCT 13, 2022 9:00 AM +08
First Broadcast: Date: October 12, 2022 Time: 8:00am PDT, 11:00am EDT Second Broadcast: Date: October 12, 2022 Time: 9:00am SGT The new Embedded CryoSPARC Live, now fully integrated with t...
Loading Comments...
Show Resources