SEP 29, 2022 7:00 AM PDT

Multidimensional Approach to Decoding the Mysteries of Animal Development

Sponsored by: GenScript
Speaker

Abstract
Date:  September 29, 2022
Time: 7:00am (PDT),  10:00am (EDT), 4:00pm (CEST)
 
Development and evolution are controlled, to a large degree, by regions of genomic DNA called enhancers that encode binding sites for transcription factor proteins. The binding of activators and repressors increases and reduces gene expression levels, respectively, but it is not understood how combinations of activators and repressors generate precise patterns of transcription during development. Towards this aim, we have developed novel methods to dissect transcriptional enhancers to understand their role in determining patterns of gene expression in the fruit fly, a classic model system (Fuqua et al., Nature 2020). I will discuss our ongoing research focused on developmental networks using our high-throughput robotics and multiomics combined with synthetic biology.
 
Learning Objectives
  • What are transcriptional enhancers?
  • Why do changes in enhancers drive animal evolution and disease?
  • How can we understand enhancers and control them using synthetic biology?
 
 
Webinars will be available for unlimited on-demand viewing after live event.
 
 

Show Resources
You May Also Like
AUG 24, 2022 7:00 AM PDT
AUG 24, 2022 7:00 AM PDT
Date: August 24, 2022 Time: 7:00am (PDT), 10:00pm (EDT), 4:00pm (CEST) Light field microscopy was first introduced in 2006, and allows users to capture the 4D light field within the microsco...
JUN 28, 2022 7:00 AM PDT
JUN 28, 2022 7:00 AM PDT
Date: June 28, 2022 Time: 3:00pm (BST), 4:00pm (CET), 9:00am (CST), 7am (PST) Light-sheet microscopy is an extremely versatile imaging technique with a vast range of implementations that are...
NOV 16, 2022 7:00 PM PST
C.E. CREDITS
NOV 16, 2022 7:00 PM PST
Date: November 16, 2022 Time: 2:00pm (AEST) Date: November 17, 2022 7:00pm (PST), 10:00pm (EST), 4:00am (CET) The growth in FDA-approved cell and gene therapy products for the treatment of d...
JUN 21, 2022 6:00 AM PDT
JUN 21, 2022 6:00 AM PDT
Date: June 21, 2022 Time: 6:00am (PDT), 9:00am (EDT), 3:00pm (CEST) The global understanding and practice of medicine is currently undergoing a revolutionary change. This shift to precision...
NOV 09, 2022 8:00 AM PST
C.E. CREDITS
NOV 09, 2022 8:00 AM PST
Date: November 09, 2022 Time: 8:00am (PST), 11:00am (EST), 5:00pm (CET) The field of cell and gene therapy is rapidly growing. In particular, the use of lentiviruses in CAR-T applications is...
SEP 22, 2022 9:00 AM PDT
SEP 22, 2022 9:00 AM PDT
Date: September 22, 2022 Time: 9:00am (PDT), 12:00pm (EDT), 6:00pm (CEST) Optimizing platforms for surgical specimen collection and deep human phenotyping was used to enhance protein biomarke...
Loading Comments...
Show Resources