JUL 21, 2022 11:00 AM PDT

Influenza: An Underestimated Threat

Sponsored by: Thermo Fisher Scientific
Speaker

Abstract
Date:  July 21, 2022
Time: 11:00am (PDT),  2:00pm (EDT), 8:00pm (CEST)
 
In light of the recent pandemic, less attention has been given to more common viruses like influenza. Scientists believe influenza may have been around before the 16th century and probably caused significant morbidity and mortality throughout the years. However, it wasn't until 1931 that virologist Richard Edwin Shope actually isolated the virus. Influenza is responsible for several worldwide pandemics. It is essential to understand its origins and the reasons for different strains and variations. Experts in the field believe influenza is a threat that could cause future pandemics. The ability to test and diagnose influenza has become mainstream in medicine, with newer and more accurate technologies available. In this webinar, we will present a historical view of influenza, what has been done in previous pandemics, and what is in our reach to prevent, diagnose, contain, and treat influenza.
 
Learning Objectives
  • Understand how influenza remains a significant health concern throughout the world
  • Understand proven measures that slow and/or stop the spread of virus
  • Understanding of proven technology to prevent, diagnose, and treat influenza
 
Webinars will be available for unlimited on-demand viewing after live event.
 
 

Show Resources
You May Also Like
AUG 10, 2022 10:00 AM PDT
AUG 10, 2022 10:00 AM PDT
Date: August 10, 2022 Time: 10:00am PDT, 1:00pm EDT The global pandemic has increased focus and scrutiny on molecular diagnostic assay development, resulting in a need for assays that provid...
JUN 28, 2022 7:00 AM PDT
JUN 28, 2022 7:00 AM PDT
Date: June 28, 2022 Time: 3:00pm (BST), 4:00pm (CET), 9:00am (CST), 7am (PST) Light-sheet microscopy is an extremely versatile imaging technique with a vast range of implementations that are...
MAR 23, 2022 11:00 AM PDT
MAR 23, 2022 11:00 AM PDT
Date: March 23, 2021 Time: 11:00am (PDT), 2:00pm (EDT), 8:00pm (CEDT) In this presentation, Dr. Middleton will review the development and deployment of large-scale saliva-based COVID-19 test...
APR 28, 2022 8:00 AM PDT
APR 28, 2022 8:00 AM PDT
Date: April 28, 2022 Time: 8:00am (PDT), 11:00am (EDT), 5:00pm (CEST) Human pluripotent stem cells (PSCs) and their derivatives hold great potentials in...
MAY 17, 2022 9:00 AM PDT
MAY 17, 2022 9:00 AM PDT
Date: May 17, 2022 Time: 9:00am (PDT), 12:00pm (EDT), 8:00pm (CEST) Gene therapeutics have great potential to treat many severe diseases in an unprecedented, targeted manner. The biopharmace...
JUN 21, 2022 6:00 AM PDT
JUN 21, 2022 6:00 AM PDT
Date: June 21, 2022 Time: 6:00am (PDT), 9:00am (EDT), 3:00pm (CEST) The global understanding and practice of medicine is currently undergoing a revolutionary change. This shift to precision...
Loading Comments...
Show Resources