MENU

A Next Generation Simulation Tool for the Characterization and Optimization of gassed and/or stirred Bioreactors

Presented at: Bioprocessing 2021
C.E. Credits: P.A.C.E. CE Florida CE
Speaker
  • Head of the Computational Bioprocess Engineering Group at the Institute for Process and Particle Engineering, Graz University of Technology
    Biography

      Christian Witz has studied chemical process engineering. In his Ph.D. Witz created a novel simulation program for aerated and stirred bioreactors. He was recently named as a fellow in the Spin-Off Fellowship program of the Austrian Research Promotion Agency.


    Abstract

    The scale-up and characterization of industrial bioprocesses is to a large extent still based on empirical knowledge. With advanced algorithms and graphic processing units in the computational fluid dynamics field the inner workings of these bioprocesses can be examined in detail for the first time. This lays the foundation for new apparatus designs as well as for the optimization of operating parameters and process characterization on the computer. Using the example of aerated stirred bioreactors, I will show how this new simulation tool integrates – and how it accelerates – your workflow from the lab to the market.

    Learning objectives:

    1. Explain new algorithms for the computational fluid dynamics

    2. Define the usage of new CFD tools for accelerating the path from the lab to the market


    Show Resources
    You May Also Like
    FEB 24, 2021 10:00 AM PST
    C.E. CREDITS
    FEB 24, 2021 10:00 AM PST
    DATE: February 24, 2021 TIME: 10am PST Automated lab instruments such as liquid handlers and cell sorters are increasingly common in all types of laboratories, driving fast results for labor...
    DEC 03, 2020 4:30 PM PST
    C.E. CREDITS
    DEC 03, 2020 4:30 PM PST
    This drug development program is designed to create a family of broad-spectrum, pan-coronaviral drugs that respectively inhibit multiple key enzymes required for viral replication. By target...
    JAN 21, 2021 8:00 AM PST
    JAN 21, 2021 8:00 AM PST
    Date: January 21, 2021 Time: 8:00am (PST), 11:00am (EST) Today, critical reagent characterization is a key component in the overall workflow to establish robust ligand binding assays (e.g.,...
    NOV 05, 2020 7:00 AM PST
    C.E. CREDITS
    NOV 05, 2020 7:00 AM PST
    DATE: Date needed, 2020 TIME: Time needed Exosomes are a population of naturally occurring mobile, membrane-limited, 30 – 100 nm in diameter, extracellular vesicles containing a large...
    NOV 18, 2020 8:00 AM PST
    C.E. CREDITS
    NOV 18, 2020 8:00 AM PST
    DATE: November 18, 2020 TIME: 08:00am PDT We develop and implement technologies to solve some of the major bottlenecks in biomedical research. In particular, we establish new imaging approac...
    NOV 19, 2020 8:00 AM GMT
    C.E. CREDITS
    NOV 19, 2020 8:00 AM GMT
    Date: November 19, 2020 Time: 12:00am (PDT), 9:00am (CET), 4:00pm (SGT) We present split-FISH, a multiplexed fluorescence in situ hybridization method that leverages a split-probe design to...
    Loading Comments...
    Show Resources
    Attendees
    • See more