Jan 31, 2022 6:00am PST, 9am EST, 2pm GMT

Expanded Carrier Screening Clinical Research with Ion Torrent CarrierSeq ECS

Speaker

Abstract
Date:  January 31, 2022
Time: 6:00am (PST),  9:00am (EST)
 
The advent of massively parallel next‐generation DNA sequencing (NGS) technologies has provided opportunities to radically improve strategies for carrier screening research. Compared with conventional genotyping‐based carrier screening, which, due to numerous cost and technical limitations, is typically designed to detect a limited number of mutations for each disease, NGS provides increased accuracy (Grody et al. 2013). In this presentation, Bruno Coprerski, Head of IVF, will discuss the state of carrier screening research in Brazil and why he choose Ion Torrent CarrierSeq ESC for carrier screening in his clinical research lab. Mr Coprerski will discuss the challenges he faced during the implementation and validation of CarrierSeq ECS, how he overcame those challenges and what he learned during the process.

 

 
Learning Objectives
  • Discuss carrier screening and how it is used
  • Discuss expectations for NGS-based carrier screening clinical research
  • Describe best practices for implementation and validation of CarrierSeq ECS
 
 
Webinars will be available for unlimited on-demand viewing after live event.
 
LabRoots is approved as a provider of continuing education programs in the clinical laboratory sciences by the ASCLS P.A.C.E. ® Program. By attending this webinar, you can earn 1 Continuing Education credit once you have viewed the webinar in its entirety.

Show Resources
You May Also Like
NOV 30, 2021 10:00 AM PST
C.E. CREDITS
NOV 30, 2021 10:00 AM PST
Date: November 30, 2021 Time: 10:00am (PDT), 1:00pm (EDT) The prevalence of thyroid disease worldwide has served as a catalyst for healthcare providers to study various tools and methods to...
APR 28, 2022 8:00 AM PDT
APR 28, 2022 8:00 AM PDT
Date: April 28, 2022 Time: 8:00am (PDT), 11:00am (EDT), 5:00pm (CEST) Human pluripotent stem cells (PSCs) and their derivatives hold great potentials in...
DEC 09, 2021 11:00 AM PST
C.E. CREDITS
DEC 09, 2021 11:00 AM PST
Date: December 09, 2021 Time: 11:00am (PDT), 2:00pm (EDT) The burden of antimicrobial resistance (AMR) has been acknowledged worldwide by leading health institutes. Besides the need for new...
MAR 23, 2022 11:00 AM PDT
MAR 23, 2022 11:00 AM PDT
Date: March 23, 2021 Time: 11:00am (PDT), 2:00pm (EDT), 8:00pm (CEDT) In this presentation, Dr. Middleton will review the development and deployment of large-scale saliva-based COVID-19 test...
MAR 16, 2022 8:00 AM PDT
C.E. CREDITS
MAR 16, 2022 8:00 AM PDT
Date: March 16, 2022 Time: 8:00am (PDT), 11:00am (EDT), 5:00pm (CET) Handling of potent and/or hazardous substances is commonplace in sev.....
FEB 24, 2022 10:00 AM PST
C.E. CREDITS
FEB 24, 2022 10:00 AM PST
Date: February 24, 2021 Time: 10:00am (PST), 1:00pm (EST) One of the largest global public health crises is the rise of antimicrobial-resistant infections. Globally, over 700,000 people die...
Loading Comments...
Show Resources