SEP 22, 2022 10:00 AM PDT

Digital PCR basics

Sponsored by: Thermo Fisher Scientific
Speaker

Abstract
Date:  September 22, 2022
Time: 10:00am (PDT),  1:00pm (EDT), 7:00pm (CEST)
 
Digital PCR (dPCR) is a specialized approach to nucleic acid detection and quantification that is not reliant on standard curves. Instead, the quantity or numbers of molecules present in a reaction is determined by digitizing a traditional bulk PCR reaction into many thousands of nanoliter-sized microreactions and then amplifying those reactions to endpoint. Absolute rather than relative quantification is achieved by counting the number of positive and negative microreactions at endpoint and applying simple statistical methods. While dPCR uses the same fundamental chemistry as qPCR, dPCR offers higher precision and improved precision when measuring rare targets, heightened sensitivity when testing highly heterogenous mixtures, and improved reproducibility for standard-curve free quantification. Join our technical expert Dr. Dave Bauer in this webinar which will cover the fundamental principles of digital PCR, discuss how it compares to and is complemented by real-time or quantitative PCR methods, and describe which use cases are well suited for digital PCR across common research areas such as cancer research, cell and gene therapy development, and environmental sample testing.
 
Learning Objectives
  • Describe the fundamental concepts of digital PCR and how data are collected and used to provide absolute quantification
  • Understand the advantages and complementarity of both dPCR and qPCR technologies
  • Understand some of the more common use cases for dPCR across highlighted research areas
 
 
Webinars will be available for unlimited on-demand viewing after live event.
 
 

Show Resources
You May Also Like
MAY 17, 2022 9:00 AM PDT
MAY 17, 2022 9:00 AM PDT
Date: May 17, 2022 Time: 9:00am (PDT), 12:00pm (EDT), 8:00pm (CEST) Gene therapeutics have great potential to treat many severe diseases in an unprecedented, targeted manner. The biopharmace...
JUN 28, 2022 7:00 AM PDT
JUN 28, 2022 7:00 AM PDT
Date: June 28, 2022 Time: 3:00pm (BST), 4:00pm (CET), 9:00am (CST), 7am (PST) Light-sheet microscopy is an extremely versatile imaging technique with a vast range of implementations that are...
JUN 21, 2022 6:00 AM PDT
JUN 21, 2022 6:00 AM PDT
Date: June 21, 2022 Time: 6:00am (PDT), 9:00am (EDT), 3:00pm (CEST) The global understanding and practice of medicine is currently undergoing a revolutionary change. This shift to precision...
SEP 29, 2022 8:00 AM PDT
SEP 29, 2022 8:00 AM PDT
Date: September 29, 2022 Time: 8:00am (PDT), 11:00am (EDT), 5:00pm (CEST) Adeno-associated virus (AAV) is one of the most widely used delivery vehicles in gene therapy. To ensure the safety...
SEP 13, 2022 8:00 AM PDT
SEP 13, 2022 8:00 AM PDT
Date: September 13, 2022 Time: 8:00am (PDT), 11:00am (EDT), 5:00pm (CEST) Preparedness against pandemic diseases demands rapid-response vaccine technology and ready-to-use analytical methods...
SEP 22, 2022 9:00 AM PDT
SEP 22, 2022 9:00 AM PDT
Date: September 22, 2022 Time: 9:00am (PDT), 12:00pm (EDT), 6:00pm (CEST) Optimizing platforms for surgical specimen collection and deep human phenotyping was used to enhance protein biomarke...
Loading Comments...
Show Resources